San Francisco Symphony

Wednesdays at 7pm

Since its beginning in 1911, the San Francisco Symphony has been known for innovative programs that offer a spectrum of traditional repertory and new music. Today, the Orchestra’s artistic vitality, recordings, and groundbreaking multimedia educational projects carry its impact throughout American musical life.

The San Francisco Symphony has grown in stature and acclaim under such distinguished music directors as Henry Hadley, Alfred Hertz, the legendary Pierre Monteux, Josef Krips, Seiji Ozawa, Edo de Waart and Herbert Blomstedt. Current Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas assumed the post in 1995. Together, he and the San Francisco Symphony have formed a musical partnership hailed as “one of the most inspiring and adventurous in the country.” Maestro Tilson Thomas and the Orchestra have also been praised by the critics for their musicianship, for their innovative programming, for bringing the works of American composers to the fore, and for bringing new audiences into Davies Symphony Hall.

The San Francisco Symphony has toured extensively to Europe, Asia and throughout the United States. It has won some of the world’s most prestigious recording awards, including eleven Grammy Awards, Japan’s Record Academy Award, France’s Grand Prix du Disque, and Britain’s Gramophone Award.

With the launch of the San Francisco Symphony’s own SFS Media label in 2001, Michael Tilson Thomas and the Orchestra embarked on a project to record all of Mahler’s symphonies and song cycles. The label’s first offering, Symphony No. 6, was released to international acclaim and received the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Orchestral Performance. The recordings of seven more Mahler symphonies have been released since, and the project has received three more Grammy Awards – Best Classical Album for Symphony No. 3 and Kindertotenlieder, with mezzo-sopranoMichelle DeYoung, and both Best Classical Album and Best Orchestral Performance for Symphony No. 7.

  July 29:  

  • Schulhoff: Scherzo from Symphony No. 5
  • Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 1 in c, Opus 35; Symphony No. 9 in E-flat, Opus 70
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in b, Opus 74, Pathétique 

Aug 5:  

  • J. S. BACH: Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D, BWV 1069; Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen, BWV 51
  • C. P. E. BACH: Cello Concerto No. 3 in A, H.439 ; Symphony in G, H.666 
  • TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 2  


Aug 12:  

  • SIBELIUS: Lemminkäinen's Return, Opus 22, no.4 
  • BARTÓK: Violin Concerto No. 2 in b 
  • BRAHMS: Symphony No. 4 in e, Opus 98 ; Variations on a Theme by Haydn, opus 56a


Aug 19:  

  • FAURÉ: Pavane, Opus 50 
  • SCHUBERT: Entr’acte No. 3 in B-flat from Rosamunde, D.797 
  • DVOŘÁK: Legends for Orchestra, Opus 59, no.6 
  • GRIEG: The Last Spring, Opus 34, no.2 
  • PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-flat, Opus 10 
  • LITOLFF: Scherzo from Concerto symphonique No. 4 in d, Opus 102 
  • DEBUSSY: Images 
  • BRAHMS: Tragic Overture, Opus 81 


Aug 26:  

  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat, Opus 19 
  • SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 10 in e, Opus 93 
  • BATES: The B-Sides